Experienced Family Law Attorney You Can Trust

Does California suspend licenses over back child support?

On Behalf of | Jun 20, 2023 | Divorce |

If paying child support becomes challenging, it is essential to do whatever you can to stay caught up. If you fall behind, serious consequences could arise, such as the possibility of time behind bars, a bank levy or the loss of your tax refund. In addition, you could face the suspension of your driver’s license or another type of license.

Losing your license could have a devastating impact on your life. In fact, it could become even more difficult to pay child support if you have a hard time getting to work or cannot perform job duties that involve driving.

When does back child support lead to license suspension?

California Child Support Services states that if you have past due child support for over 30 days, the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) will receive notification. Next, the DMV will contact you via postal mail and you must respond within 150 days to avoid the loss of your license. If you find yourself in this position for a second time, you only have 30 days to respond.

Can back child support cause the suspension of other licenses?

It is also crucial to realize that you could face the suspension of another type of license issued by the state of California if you do not stay current on child support. In fact, unpaid child support can result in the suspension of a professional license or a recreational license, such as a fishing or hunting license.

If you currently owe back child support, try to explore potential strategies to get caught up as soon as possible, such as possibly modifying your child support order.